Categorification in quantum topology
and beyond

7 January to 18 January 2019
Erwin Schrödinger International Institute for Mathematics and Physics, Vienna, Austria

Categorification is a flexible and powerful set of techniques and ideas, which produces insight about mathematical structures by viewing them as shadows of objects in a richer world, often described in terms of higher categories. Two important and interrelated categorification programmes, which are the basis for this workshop, concern the concepts of quantum link homologies and higher representation theory. Both have their origin in mathematics, but have since developed into some of the most fruitful grounds for collaboration between pure mathematics and theoretical physics.

Week 1

7 January to 11 January 2019

The first week of this workshop will make the recent rapid developments in the areas of quantum link homologies and higher representation theory accessible to non-experts and intensify communication between specialists in these and related areas like gauge theory, TQFT, quantum Teichm├╝ller theory, and string theory.
Lecturers include Sergei Gukov (Caltech), Mikhail Khovanov (Columbia U), Thang Le (Georgia Tech), and Anthony Licata (ANU).

Week 2

14 January to 18 January 2019

The second week will be used to host a research conference with thematic emphasis on categorification of skein theory and 3-manifold invariants.


The workshop will be held at the Erwin Schrödinger Institute (ESI) in Vienna, Austria.

Participation in ESI workshops is by invitation only. But please get in touch with the organizers if you are interested!

We can offer limited funds to PhD students working on categorification in quantum topology, broadly defined, to attend the lectures in the first week. To register your interest, please send us an email, briefly describing your work as well as your travel funding situation. We appreciate early notes of interest; the final application deadline for support for the first week is October 15, 2018.